Flash News


Austria expels four Russian diplomats

Austria expels four Russian diplomats

Austria's foreign ministry said on February 2 that it has expelled four Russian diplomats for actions that conflict with their diplomatic status.

The ministry said the diplomats must leave the country by February 8.

The ministry said in a statement that two diplomats worked at the Russian Embassy, ​​while the other two were members of the Russian mission to the United Nations in Vienna, but gave no further details.

So far there has been no reaction from Moscow.

In April 2022, Austria had also expelled four other Russian diplomats on the same grounds.

So far, many EU states have expelled Russian diplomats following international condemnation of alleged atrocities Russian forces have committed against Ukrainian civilians.

The Russian occupation of Ukraine has entered its 12th month.

Latest news