Which countries participate in EURO 2020?

Which countries participate in EURO 2020?

Twenty-four nations will participate, including the winners of the last European Championship in 2016, Portugal, and the winners of the World Cup France.

Two teams are debuting in a major football tournament like Finland and Northern Macedonia.

Of the eleven countries hosting the match, seven - Denmark, England, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Russia and Spain - qualified for the tournament.

Two others - Hungary and Scotland - made it through the play-offs, while Romania and Azerbaijan lost.

Greece, winner of EURO 2004, is the only champions who will not compete in this summer's tournament.

Group A - Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B - Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C - Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, Northern Macedonia

Group D - England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic

Group E - Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia

Group F - Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany

How does the EURO 2020 tournament work?

In the initial group stage, all four teams play each other.

The winners and runners-up of each group, as well as the top four third-place teams, will advance to the last 16 remaining places in the tournament.

The winner advances to the quarterfinals or the last eight teams. Then the semifinals before the final on July 11th.  


Latest news